The Witches of New York

Av Ami McKay
Goodreads
76.8 of 5
3.8400 / 5

pris på nett

Tilbudspris 186,15 kr Vanlig pris 219 kr

pris i butikk

219 kr
  • Format: Paperback
  • Språk: Engelsk
  • Sjangere: Gotisk, Historie, Overnaturlig, Fantasy
  • Slippdato: 11. jul. 2017
  • Forlag: Harper Perennial

Nettbestilling

Få varen levert rett hjem!

Utsolgt

Klikk & Hent

Hold av varen i din nærmeste Outland-butikk

eller
Velg butikk
The Witches of New York
The Witches of New York
In the vein of Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell, comes a new novel from historical fiction maven Ami McKay that transports readers to the heart of Victorian New York, where three witches practice their craft—to the delight of some—but at their own peril.

Respectable Lady Seeks Dependable Shop Girl. Those averse to magic need not apply.

New York in the spring of 1880 is a place alive with wonder and curiosity. Determined to learn the truth about the world, its residents enthusiastically engage in both scientific experimentation and spiritualist pursuits. Séances are the entertainment of choice in exclusive social circles, and many enterprising women—some possessed of true intuitive powers, and some gifted with the art of performance—find work as mediums.

Enter Adelaide Thom and Eleanor St. Clair. At their humble teashop, Tea and Sympathy, they provide a place for whispered confessions, secret cures, and spiritual assignations for a select society of ladies, who speak the right words and ask the right questions. But the profile of Tea and Sympathy is about to change with the fortuitous arrival of Beatrice Dunn.

When seventeen-year-old Beatrice leaves the safety of her village to answer an ad that reads "Respectable Lady Seeks Dependable Shop Girl. Those averse to magic need not apply," she has little inclination of what the job will demand of her. Beatrice doesn't know it yet, but she is no ordinary small-town girl; she has great spiritual gifts—ones that will serve as her greatest asset and also place her in grave danger. Under the tutelage of Adelaide and Eleanor, Beatrice comes to harness many of her powers, but not even they can prepare her for the evils lurking in the darkest corners of the city or the courage it will take to face them.

 
SKU
9780062359926
Sjangere: Gotisk Historie Overnaturlig Fantasy
Detaljer
SKU 9780062359926
Vekt (Kg) : 0.408000
Antall Sider 560
Subsjanger: Historisk
Leverandørstatus Tilgjengelig
Illustrasjoner Illustrations, unspecified
Serie : Witches of New York
Sjanger Gotisk, Historie, Overnaturlig, Fantasy
Format Paperback
Språk Engelsk
Produsent / Forlag : Harper Perennial
Opprinnelsesland : USA
Forfattere Ami McKay
Avansert Format Paperback
Aldersgruppe Voksen
Skriv din egen produktomtale
Du omtaler:The Witches of New York
Din rangering
Besøk Goodreads for flere omtaler
Andre produkter du kanskje vil like?