Pillow Talk

  • Format: Paperback
  • Språk: Engelsk
  • Sjangere: LGBT, Sport
  • Slippdato: 1. mai 2024
  • Forlag: Harper Alley
kr  206,10

Ikke medlem

kr  229

Kjøp på nett og få varen sendt hjem

Varen er tilgjengelig for bestilling.
Grace Mendes, a.k.a. Cinderhella, is a fierce competitor in the PFF, an underground pillow fight league that's part roller derby, part professional wrestling. But in this fresh, coming-of-age YA...
Grace Mendes, a.k.a. Cinderhella, is a fierce competitor in the PFF, an underground pillow fight league that's part roller derby, part professional wrestling. But in this fresh, coming-of-age YA graphic novel for fans of Check, Please! and Bloom, Grace needs to learn to overcome her biggest enemy: herself.
When college freshman Grace Mendes reluctantly attends her first pillow fight match, she falls in love with the surprisingly gritty sport. Despite her usually shy, introverted, and reserved nature, Grace decides to try out for the Pillow Fight Federation (PFF), a locally famous league of fighters with larger-than-life personas like Pain Eyre, Miss Fortune, and champion Kat Atonic. They may battle with pillows, but there is nothing soft about these fighters. The first and only rule to pillow fighting is that the pillow needs to be the first point of contact; after that, everything else goes.
Grace struggles with deep-seeded body image issues, so she is especially shocked when she makes the competitive league and is welcomed into the fold of close knit, confident fighters. As her first official fight performing as newly crafted alter ego/ring persona Cinderhella looms on the horizon, the real battle taking place is between Grace and her growing insecurities. What if people laugh or make fun of her? Why did she think she could pillow fight in the first place when she doesn't look like your "typical" athlete? Turns out, no one is laughing when Cinderhella dominates her first match in the ring. And as her alter ego rises through the ranks of the PFF, gaining traction and online fame (and online trolls), can Grace use the spotlight to become an icon for not just others, but most importantly, for herself?
Pillow Talk is an inclusive, high-octane, outrageously fun graphic novel that aims a punch at the impossibly high standards set for women in sports (and otherwise) and champions the power of finding a team that will, quite literally, fight for you. A knock-out!
SKU
9780358525714
Sjangere: LGBT Sport
Detaljer
SKU 9780358525714
Vekt (Kg) : 0.454000
Opprinnelsesland : USA
Serie Pillow Talk
Forfattere Stephanie Cooke
Sjanger LGBT, Sport
Format Paperback
Leverandørstatus Tilgjengelig
Aldersgruppe Ungdom
Språk Engelsk
Utgiver Harper Alley
Antall Sider 304
Illustratør Mel Valentine Vargas